Understand Anonymous Messages
If Anonymous Messages are enabled (see Step 1), students can choose to withhold their identity when sending a message. A button saying "Anonymous messages" will appear on the group page in the Instructor View. When you click on that button, you will see all anonymous messages that your students have sent. When you respond to an anonymous message, your response will be delivered to the student who sent the message and will appear in their conversation history just like a normal message. However, when you, as an instructor, view conversation history for that same student on your end, you will not see either the original message or the response. Both of these messages will remain on the "Anonymous messages" page for you and for other instructors who may be enrolled in the group.